



RESIDENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

BACKGROUND

The Branciforte Board of Directors created an ad-hoc committee to address LAFCO's request for a detailed strategic plan on how the District will be a sustainable special district following the sunset of the contractual agreement with SVFPD for administrative services. This committee included two board members and a number of residents. Since the formation back in late-2021, the committee evolved into a resident-based advisory group without proper District oversight. During the April 12th District Meeting, the Board reclassified the group as a "Resident Advisory Committee," ensuring that the committee is operated and managed by the Fire Chief.

PURPOSE

The objective of the Resident Advisory Committee is to help the District successfully complete the reorganization effort involving the Branciforte Fire Protection District and the Scotts Valley Fire Protection District.

ROLE

The responsibility of the advisory committee member is to provide feedback on the factors identified by the Fire Chief. Examples include providing input on the upcoming community workshops, determining potential questions the community may have about the reorganization, and how to properly convey the benefits of the reorganization.

MEMBERS

The Fire Chief will be responsible for determining who is on the committee and will keep an active roster. No more than two board members will be allowed to be on the committee at any given time. The committee meetings will only be open to committee members or guest speakers invited by the Fire Chief.

DURATION

The reorganization is tentatively scheduled to be completed by July 2023. If and when the reorganization is completed, this advisory committee will be dissolved.



RESIDENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE ROSTER (as of August 20, 2022)

#	Members
Community Representatives	
1	Neal Austin
2	Katie Freeman
3	Vicki Miller
4	Aren Pageler
5	Larry Pageler
6	Tony Sloss
7	Dale Thurston
8	Marilyn Kuksht
District Representatives	
9	Tim Dodds, Board Member
10	Nate Lackey, Fire Chief
11	Pat O'Connell, Board Member
LAFCO Representatives	
12	Don Jarvis, Fire Consultant
13	Joe Serrano, Executive Officer

Pursuant to the District's adopted board policies, the Fire Chief will oversee the membership of this committee and may modify the roster, if warranted.