What is LAFCO?

This document is intended to give the reader a preliminary introduction to the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO). As such, much of the following is a summary of California law and should not be considered as the exact wording of the applicable statutes.

Santa Cruz LAFCO’s local policies and rules are located on another page of our website: POLICIES AND RULES


The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 states that among the purposes of a Local Agency Formation Commission are discouraging urban sprawl, preserving open-space and prime agricultural lands, efficiently providing governmental services, and encouraging the orderly formation and development of local agencies based upon local conditions and circumstances.

Commissioners & Staff

The Commission is made up of two county supervisorial members appointed by the Board of Supervisors, two city council members appointed by the city mayors (City Selection Committee) within Santa Cruz County, two special district members appointed by the Special District Selection Committee, and a public member appointed by the other six LAFCO Commissioners. There is also one alternate member for each of the above four classifications. In order to achieve an unbiased approach to local governmental organization and expansion problems, the Santa Cruz Local Agency Formation Commission operates independently of the cities and the County. The Commission employs its own staff, including an Executive Officer.

CommissionersRepresentingTerm Ends
Jim AndersonSpecial District Member, Felton FireMay 2025
Roger AndersonPublic MemberMay 2024
Yvette Brooks (Chair)City Member, CapitolaMay 2026
Justin CummingsBoard of SupervisorsMay 2027
Zach FriendBoard of SupervisorsMay 2024
Rachél LatherSpecial District, Soquel Creek WaterMay 2023
Eduardo MontesinoCity Member, WatsonvilleMay 2023

Public Participation

All area landowners, residents, and other interested persons are encouraged to participate in matters which come before LAFCO. LAFCO meetings are typically held on the first Wednesday of each month, at 9:00 a.m., in Room 525 of the County Governmental Center, 701 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz.

Please check the agenda webpage for instructions on how to attend the meetings.

How to Address the Commission

All persons addressing the Commission are asked to step up to the podium, give their name, where they live, and their interest in the matter under consideration, in an audible tone of voice for the record. Unless further time is granted by the Commission, each speaker shall be limited to three minutes. All remarks shall be addressed to the Commission, as a body, and not to any member thereof. No person, other than the Commission’s Chairperson and the person having the floor, shall be permitted to enter into any discussion, either directly or through a member of the Commission, without permission of the Chairperson. No question shall be asked of a Commissioner except through the Chairperson.

Translate »